• About
  • Blog
  • Store
  • Contact
  • Film Catalog

Pictures of the Year International 2013 Awardees Announced

MediaStorm is honored to announce we have won second place in the Pictures of the Year International Best Website category. Other winners in this category were the Los Angeles Times, which won first place, and TIME, which won third place.

It is always a pleasure and inspiration for us to see the best of the industry’s work honored in the annual POYi competition and this year is no exception. Here are some highlights from this year’s multimedia competition.

The winner of the Documentary Project of the Year was Liz O. Baylen, Mary Vignoles, Scott Glover, Lisa Girion, Hailey Branson-Potts, Marc Duvoisin, Matt Lait, Megan Garvey, Stephanie Ferrell, Hailey Branson-Potts, Doug Smith, Sandra Poindexter, Maloy Moore, Armand Emamdjomeh, Lily Mihalik and Lorena Iñiguez Elebee of the Los Angeles Times for “Dying For Relief – A Times Investigation.”

MediaStorm Spring 2013 Interns, Joshua Davis and Jon Kasbe were part of the team that produced “100 Gallons,” one of the three finalists for Documentary Project of the Year. Their teammates included Kelly Izlar, Stephanie Bullins, Dylan Gilroy, Kelly McHugh, Spencer Bakalar, Cyrus Huneycutt and Vanessa Patchett of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Liz O. Baylen of the Los Angeles Times was awarded first place as Multimedia Photographer of the Year. Rick Loomis, also of the Los Angeles Times took second place and McKenna Ewen of The Minneapolis Star Tribune took third.

“Serving The Whole Person” from Bombay Flying Club won first place in the POYi Multimedia Documentary category.

In the Multimedia Documentary category first place went to Poul Madsen of Bombay Flying Club for “Serving The Whole Person.” Second place was awarded to Miquel Dewever-Plana, Isabelle Fougère, Hugues Micol, Sébastien Brothier, Greg Corsaro and Lydia Decobert of Arte / Upian / Agence VU for “Alma, A Tale Of Violence.” Ed Kashi, Julie Winokur, Elissa Pelligrino and Michael Curry of Talking Eyes Media took third place with “Photojournalisms.”

Awards of Excellence were awarded to Drea Cooper and Zackary Canepari of California Is A Place for “Superman” and Joshua Davis, Spencer Bakalar and Stephanie Bullins of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for “Fractured.”

“Superman” from California is a place won an Award of Excellence in the POYi Multimedia Documentary category.

First Place in the Feature Multimedia category went to Béatrice De Géa, Denise Grady, Nick Harbaugh, Soo-Jeong Kang, Nancy Donaldson and Thomas Gamble at The New York Times for “The Vanishing Mind Series: In Love And Loss.” This beautiful and difficult piece looks at the life of a wife, Ruth, whose husband has frontotemporal dementia, for which there is no cure.

Other winners in this category were Davide Monteleone, Myles Kane, Kristina Budelis and Elissa Curtis at the The New Yorker who took second place with “Nordic Odyssey: A Month at Sea” and Liz O. Baylen and Mary Vignoles for the Los Angeles Times who took third place with “Bitter Pills.”

“Nordic Odyssey: A Month at Sea” from The New Yorker won second place in the POYi Feature Multimedia category.

The winner of the Best E-Project was John Branch, Ruth Fremson, Catherine Spangler, Hannah Fairfield, Xaquín G.V., Jon Huang, Wayne Kamidoi, Sam Manchester, Alan McLean, Jacky Myint, Graham Roberts, Joe Ward, Jeremy White, Josh Williams, Eric Miller, Shane Wilder and Kristen Millares Young of the The New York Times for the much talked about “Avalanche at Tunnel Creek.”

A full list of winners is available at www.poyi.org/70/70WinnersList.html. Congratulations to all of the 2013 winners.

This entry was posted in Industry News, MediaStorm Announcements, MediaStorm Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

One Comment